Music Review >> Glee Cast – ‘Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (Motion Picture Soundtrack)’

What’s better than listening to your favorite Glee hits? Listening to live performances of your favorite Glee hits, of course!

Earlier this week the Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (Motion Picture Soundtrack) was released, and the album contains 23 tracks from the upcoming Glee: The 3D Concert Movie, which is out this Friday, August 12.

I like that Glee released the live tracks from the movie, because it gives the fans a chance to not only sing along to their favorite songs, but also appreciate the cast of Glee for their tremendous live vocals.

Lea Michele (Rachel) is the star of this collection by far. From her chill-inducing duet with Chris Colfer (Kurt) on the classic “Happy Days Are Here Again”/“Get Happy” and her standout solo of “Don’t Rain On My Parade” to the bubbly “Loser Like Me,” Michele proves she has the vocal capability of singing just about anything.

And speaking of Chris Colfer, his live rendition of “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” is simply moving. His performance of the song during the “Grilled Cheesus” episode of Glee was very touching, and hearing the performance live, you truly get a sense of the emotion he’s projecting.

I have to give props to Cory Monteith (Finn). I feel that his vocal ability is often underrated, which is unfortunate, because he truly has a great natural voice. Singing his solo number “Jessie’s Girl” along with his lead verses on “Don’t Stop Believin’” and “Loser Like Me,” Monteith’s soft, raspy-yet-quality pop vocals add to the unique blend of voices that make up the cast of Glee. Even live, he and Michele’s voice complement each other perfectly.

Another standout here is the understated duet of “Lucky” between Chord Overstreet (Sam) and Dianna Agron (Quinn). The cast of Glee is full singers that can belt big notes, but I really do appreciate the subtle moments, like when you can hear the unique inflection in Agron’s live vocals.

Listening to the album takes me back to the night I attended the Glee! Live! tour this past May. It’s great to have an album for fans to remember the wonderful musical performances that took place, like Darren Criss (Blaine) and the Warblers singing “Teenage Dream” and the many fantastic group numbers like “Born This Way” and “Somebody To Love.” Plus, I love that Glee was able to get Gwyneth Paltrow out on the road for a couple shows to be able to include her sassy version of “Forget You” on this live album.

Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (Motion Picture Soundtrack) will definitely get you psyched up to see the movie. If you are a Gleefan and appreciate live music, you’re going to want to have this album on hand to sing along with to get your Gleek on!

Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (Motion Picture Soundtrack) is available now. Glee: The 3D Concert Movie will be released this Friday, August 12 at a theater near you.

Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (Motion Picture Soundtrack) Tracklisting:

1. “Don’t Stop Believin'”
2. “Dog Days Are Over” (Bonus track)
3. “Sing”
4. “I’m A Slave 4 U”
5. “Fat Bottomed Girls”
6. “I Want To Hold Your Hand”
7. “Ain’t No Way”
8. “P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)”
9. “Born This Way”
10. “Firework”
11. “Teenage Dream”
12. “Silly Love Songs”
13. “Raise Your Glass”
14. “Happy Days Are Here Again” / “Get Happy”
15. “Lucky”
16. “River Deep, Mountain High”
17. “Forget You”
18. “Don’t Rain On My Parade”
19. “Jessie’s Girl”
20. “Valerie”
21. “Loser Like Me”
22. “Safety Dance”
23. “Somebody To Love”

Originally posted on Blogcritics.


Published by

Kirsten Coachman

Kirsten Coachman is a Writer, Editor, and Arts & Entertainment Journalist from the SF Bay Area. When not listening to music or cheering on the San Jose Sharks, she's probably at the movies. Follow her on Twitter: @KirsCoachman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s